Disability award winners honored at state Capitol

Woman hands document to man

Speaker of the House of Representatives Charles McCall (District 22) from Atoka accepts the Legislator of the Year award from Commission for Rehabilitation Services Chair Emily Cheng from Oklahoma City.

Two women stand at a lecturn

DRS Vocational Rehabilitation client Katie Wehmeyer (left) from Bartlesville speaks after accepting the DRS Client of the award. Her VR counselor Melissa Newton stands beside her on the stage. The award was presented during DRS’ 24th People with Disabilities Awareness Day at the state Capitol.

Woman hands a document to a man and a woman

DRS Commissioner April Danahy presents the Business of the Year award to Roger Vance, OSU Medical Center manager of laboratory services, and Jennifer Calvert, director of operations.

Three women and one man congratulate a woman holding a document

Oklahoma City’s public transit agency EMBARK earned DRS 2018 Access for All Partner of the Year award (from left) DRS Commission Chair Emily Cheng, DRS Executive Director Melinda Fruendt, Commission Vice Chair Jace Wolfe, EMBARK Special Services Administrator Marilyn Dillon, and Commissioner April Danahy.

A man hands a document to a woman

Retired DRS employee Jean Jones earned a DRS Lifetime Achievement Award for her 40-year career in disability advocacy presented by DRS Commission Vice Chair Jace Wolfe. Jones received a standing ovation.

Woman presents a document to a man

Mike Dixon, current grand master for the Masonic Fraternity of Oklahoma accepted DRS’ 2018 Community Leader of the Year award presented by DRS Commissioner April Danahy

For more information contact
Jody Harlan, Communications Director
office 405-951-3473 cell 405-203-1318

Release Date: 

Friday, March 22, 2019